Sunday, November 25, 2012 at 4:11PM
Jo Giessner

1908 January 29, 3rd Class Post Office established as Doyle, Lassen County, California located 19 miles southeast of Milford and 24 miles north of Plumas Junction, per Postal Route Map. Named for John W. and Stephan A. Doyle, 1860's settlers.

? First Postmaster.

1913 April 29, Alice M. Bearup, Postmaster.

1920 January 20, Anna M. Dixon, Postmaster.

1921 September 5, Sacramento Union - Lassen Stage is Sold - George B. Long has been authorized by the Railroad Commission ro sell to Smith and Ramsey operative rights of an automobile passenger stage line between Doyle and Susanville, Lassen County.

1945 April 16, Mrs. Jessie M. Boyett, Postmaster.

Article originally appeared on History & Happenings (
See website for complete article licensing information.