Saturday, November 12, 2016 at 2:43PM
Jo Giessner

1896 April 6, 4th Class Post Office establsihed as Clinton, Lassen, California located 8 miles east of Susanville. Named by B. H. Leavitt, pioneer rancher, for his hometown in Maine.

George W. Cornelison, First Postmaster.

1897 June 19, Isaac M. Stewart, Postmaster.

1909 February 5, Laura S. Stewart, Postmaster.

1909 December 30, Laura S. Wright, Postmaster.

1915 January 30, Post Office discontinued and the service moved to Leavitt.

Article originally appeared on History & Happenings (
See website for complete article licensing information.