Sunday, December 9, 2012 at 5:28PM
Jo Giessner

1874 August 10,  3rd class post office established 19 miles SW of Alturas and 23 miles NE of Adin as Canby, Modoc County, California. The name honors General Edward R.S. Canby, who was murdered while negotiating peace with the Modoc Indians. 

1874 August 10, James W. Pope, First Postmaster.

1887 January 20, Charles A. Stephen, Postmaster. The Post Office was moved 2 miles NE on this day.

1887 September 14, Frank M. Strickland, Postmaster.

1888 May 11, Francis W. Caldwell, Postmaster.

1891 October 15, James W. Pope, Postmaster.

1892 January 27, Charles J. Caldwell, Postmaster.

1898 December 7, Leroy B. Miller, Postmaster.

1898 December 10, Los Angeles Herald, Washington, Dec 7 - The following California postmasters have been appointed:  Canby, Modoc county, Leroy B. Miller, vice Charles J. Caldwell, removed.~

1900 March 31, Fanny B. Kane, Postmaster.

1904 June 18, Thorn H. Ballard, Postmaster.

1906 March 22, Nathan S. Kresge, Postmaster.

1907 February 25, Fanny B. Kane, Postmaster.'

1911 September 1, Sidney D. Coulter, Postmaster.

1913 March 5, Sacramento Union - ANNOUNCES POSTMASTERS -Washington D.C., March 4 - Congressman Raker of California announces the following appointments of fourth class postmasters in his district:  William E, Stewart, Canby, Modoc County...

1913 June 2, William E. Stewart, Postmaster.

Article originally appeared on History & Happenings (
See website for complete article licensing information.