« Beckwith | Main | Bella Vista »


1895 December 6, The 4th Class Post Office was established at Beegum, Shasta County and by moving it 1/4 mile on 18 January 1900, ended up in Tehama County, California. It was then discontinued on 31 December 1917, and the residents received their mail through the Knob Post Office. Located 10 miles southeast of Knob and 42 miles northwest of Red Bluff, Beegum is a colloquial synonym to describe a bee colony. The nearby peak was honeycombed with holes inhabited by bees. Sarah Wolcott was the first postmaster.~

1895 December 6, Mrs. Sarah Wolcott, Postmaster, Shasta County location.~

1900 January 18, Lemuel D. Graves, Postmaster, Tehama County location.~

1901 April 8, John D. Graves, Postmaster, Tehama County.~

1903 August 28, John F. Goodrum, Postmaster, Tehama County.~

1908 November 16, William D. Linton, Postmaster, Tehama County.~

1916 January 3, Robert A. Howard, Postmaster, Tehama County.~

1916 November 15, William C. Wright, Postmaster, Tehama County.~

1917 December 31, Beegum Post Office discontinued. Service moved to Knob, Shasta County, California.~

1923 September 7, Searchlight, Redding, California - Mrs. Maybell Selvester of Beegum was in Redding Thursday. She is getting ready to open the Gas Point School next Monday.~

1923 October 3, Searchlight, Redding, California - TO MINE PLATINUM ON BEEGUM CREEK - The water in Beegum creek has got so low miners are preparing to resume their quest for platinum. Eugene Duval and George Grittner have built six hundred feet of flume through which the creek will be diverted so they can work in the bed of the stream wher lie the heavy deposits of platinum. Miners do well on Beegum Creek when the water ts at such a stage that they can work to advantage.~

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>