« Bayha | Main | Bee Creek »

Bayles > Delta

1884 December 4, The Bayles, Shasta County, California Post Office was established 4 December 1884 as a 4th Class, 5 miles S of Slate Creek and 6 miles N of Smithson in the Sacramento River Canyon. The town site was named for Abraham M. Bayles who also served as the first Postmaster. 

1885 August 14,  Wheeler C. Blumberg, Postmaster.

1887 January 3, Mark R. Hardin, Postmaster.

1898 January 10,  Mrs. Vercilla A. Sanders, Postmaster.

1898 January 13, Los Angeles Herald, Commissioned postmaster:  Mrs. H. L. Sanders at Bayles, Shasta county, California, vice Mark R. Hardin resigned.

1908 February 21, James P. Beard, Postmaster.

1915 March 1, Sacramento Union, The following fourth-class postmasters in northern California have been appointed: ...Bayles, James P. Beard...

1918 May 20, Annie B. Beard, Postmaster.

1929 August 14, Mrs. Nellie L. Stillson, Postmaster.

1944 March 1, Mrs. Louella McVey, Postmaster.

1948 May 1, Bayles Post Office service became Delta, Shasta County, California.~

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>