Bayles > Delta
Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:12AM
Jo Giessner

1884 December 4, The Bayles, Shasta County, California Post Office was established 4 December 1884 as a 4th Class, 5 miles S of Slate Creek and 6 miles N of Smithson in the Sacramento River Canyon. The town site was named for Abraham M. Bayles who also served as the first Postmaster. 

1885 August 14,  Wheeler C. Blumberg, Postmaster.

1887 January 3, Mark R. Hardin, Postmaster.

1898 January 10,  Mrs. Vercilla A. Sanders, Postmaster.

1898 January 13, Los Angeles Herald, Commissioned postmaster:  Mrs. H. L. Sanders at Bayles, Shasta county, California, vice Mark R. Hardin resigned.

1908 February 21, James P. Beard, Postmaster.

1915 March 1, Sacramento Union, The following fourth-class postmasters in northern California have been appointed: ...Bayles, James P. Beard...

1918 May 20, Annie B. Beard, Postmaster.

1929 August 14, Mrs. Nellie L. Stillson, Postmaster.

1944 March 1, Mrs. Louella McVey, Postmaster.

1948 May 1, Bayles Post Office service became Delta, Shasta County, California.~

Article originally appeared on History & Happenings (
See website for complete article licensing information.