Eby > Redbank > Red Bank
Thursday, November 12, 2015 at 7:48PM
Jo Giessner

1894 April 23, 4th Class Post Office established located 14 miles southwest of Red Bluff named Eby, Tehama County, California. The P O was moved from Colyear and was named for Jackson Eby, landowner.

Charles S. Beall, first postmaster.

1904 June 23, Post Office discontnued when the name was changed to Redbank.

1904 June 23, 4th class post office established 16 miles SW of Red Bluff as Redbank, Tehama, California. Charles S. Beall was the first postmaster. Also known as Eby, the location name stemmed from the Barranca Colorado (Red Ravine) Rancho land grant. The post office was discontinued 31 May 1918 when the service moved to Red Bluff.~

1913 July 1, Charles S. Beall, Postmaster.

1914 February 17, Julia Carlson, Postmaster.

1915 April 11, San Jose Mercury News- The Taxpayers League of Tehama County has decided on the following representatives for the election to be held on May 14 for the purpose of choosing 15 free-holders to draw up a new charter.   . . .Mandus Johnson, B.A. Bell, Red Bank.~

Article originally appeared on History & Happenings (http://HistoryandHappenings.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.